Readers’ Forum – March

AALast month we set up a Readers’ Forum on your recommendation. I hope you have been enjoying reading the suggestions of other readers and authors and are spending your hard earned money on even more books. 🙂

This month I’m looking forward to reading new book recs so that my credit card can cry “help.” 😆 😮 I have discovered quite a few books based solely on the recommendations posted by you in February, so keep up the good work. Remember, this is your place to spout off about books you love  😀 (or hate). 😮

Last month’s recommendations can be accessed through the search function by using the words “readers forum February” or via this link.

Author

I live in Canada and I love big dogs, music, movies, reading and sports – especially baseball

15 comments

  • I just finished reading Yeyu’s Erasing Shame. It’s set in ancient China. I love it cos the world building is incredible, the politics and the warfare are fascinating but also the sexual tension between the two main characters are delicous! This is quite an unusual m/m book, it’s highly recommended to anyone looking for something different.
    The author is also on FictionPress (Qiufeng Yeyu) and at the moment I’m also reading one of her online stories. :biglove:

    Reply
  • Oh, also, S.P. Wayne’s Winter Wolf – I downloaded this when the author generously had it available for free on Valentine’s Day. The wolf shifter, Axton, (from whose POV most of the story is told) is completely charming. The author depicts him as having what I would consider to be very dog-like characteristics in the way he acts in wolf-form, and it works well for the character – he’s very sweet. I do feel that the story kind of left me hanging at the end (although this is not an action driven story, by any means), but I understand book 2 will be out this spring sometime, and I plan on reading it. (You can borrow it for free if you have Amazon Prime.)

    Reply
  • Oh, also, S.P. Wayne’s Winter Wolf – I downloaded this when the author generously had it available for free on Valentine’s Day. The wolf shifter, Axton, (from whose POV most of the story is told) is completely charming. The author depicts him as having what I would consider to be very dog-like characteristics in the way he acts in wolf-form, and it works well for the character – he’s very sweet. I do feel that the story kind of left me hanging at the end (although this is not an action driven story, by any means), but I understand book 2 will be out this spring sometime, and I plan on reading it.

    Reply
  • I just finished re-reading this for the second time this week and it suddenly occurred to me that I should post it here! It’s Goodbye Philip by Summer Devon, and it’s a story the author wrote for the “Love is Always Write” event on the Goodreads M/M Group last year. This is a nice short story about a man, Stefan, who has adopted a baby girl and whose partner Philip has decided to bail on the relationship, because he needs more “me” time. Despite the title, Philip doesn’t appear here at all – the story is really about Stefan, his love for baby Emily and Emily’s biological uncle Greg. Much of the time when I read m/m stories with kids I just groan – the kids seem like just a prop and are portrayed unrealistically, as are the reactions of the adults to the child. What I love about this story is how well the author portrays parenthood and little Emily herself – very true to life, and yet altogether completely charming. I particular enjoyed watching the differing attitudes of Stefan and Greg (who has more baby experience than Stefan) to Emily in the beginning of the story. As one whose husband insisted it would be easier to trim our then infant son’s nails with his Dremel tool than the baby nail clippers, I found it all wonderfully true to life. The characters are all very likable and I highly recommend this short story (which can be downloaded for free from Goodreads).

    Reply
  • I read an excellent self-published m/m romance called Chance Assassin: A Story of Love, Luck, and Murder by Nicole Castle. It’s a fairly dark romance between an assassin and a damaged teen. Would definitely appeal to fans of Stockholm Syndrome and Angel and the Assassin. I thought it was really well written and it’s satisfyingly long too.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the rec. Mandy. I loved Angel and the Assassin. The book doesn’t have a lot of reviews at goodreads but the reviews it does have are all excellent. Thanks again. Annie

      Reply
  • I’m a fan of Cardeno C’s too and thoroughly enjoyed ‘Something In The Way He Needs’.

    I recently read and loved ‘The Case of the Cupid Curse’ by Amber Kell & RJ Scott and ‘Choices and Changes’ by KL Belanger

    I’ve also been rereading some of my favourite ‘rock band’ books: ‘American Love Songs’ by Ashlyn Kane; ‘Gasp!’ by ZA Maxfield; ‘A Red-Tainted Silence’ by Carolyn Gray; ‘Reverb’ by Jet Mykles; ‘Shades of Dreams’ by TA Chase; ‘Shattered Glass’ by AC Katt; and ‘Black Heart Down’ by SJ Frost.

    Reply
  • I really enjoyed Cardeno C.’s new book Something in the Way He Needs. It was sweet (as her books are always are) and the MC was sort of an “asshole” (again, as always), but yeah I’m sort of a fan of Cardeno C. and her full of sugar writing style 🙂

    Another one I liked was From the Inside Out by Talya Andor. It was long, a little fanfiction-y, but the characters were great and I’m sucker for opposites attract, online romance and workplace romance, and this book had all three 😀

    Reply
  • I just finished I’ll Be Your Drill, Soldier! by Crystal Rose, about an enlisted man and his comrades during six years of their lives in the military. The book feels like a freshman work to me – the first half is a fairly tightly written narrative about basic training and how the men meet and form their bonds (and how our protagonist meets his drill sergeant). The second half which starts taking place 5 years later is much looser and focuses primarily on the continuing friendships among the men, as well as the main love story, with hardly any military background to fill out the story. So, I would say reading the 20% sample didn’t give me a good idea of what the book was like as a whole. Also, certain things that happened in the story were pretty predictable and some, on the other hand, strained my credulity. Having said that, though, all of the characters were really memorable, including secondary characters like the the ex-wife Sandy. The MCs were wonderful and had great chemistry together. As soon as I finished the book, I went back and read my favorite passages. A couple times. So, I recommend this book for its likable characters and am looking forward to the author’s next work. It’s available on Smashwords.

    Reply
  • Duet by Eden Winters -can’t tell you what I loved without spoilers
    Line and Orbit by Sunny Moraine -amazing world building, good plot
    Those were my 5 star reads in February

    Storm Season by Nessa L Warin -she sends a hypothermic guy into a HOT shower and it was looooooooong, but nothing really happened
    God Hunters book 1 by Mark Reed -boring narrator, too many repeats of size matters, like 200 times too many, interesting plot though
    Those were my 2 star reads

    And I gave 3 stars to all the 4 first books in Charlie Cochrane’s Lessons series, they are good but doesn’t have that undefined oomph that makes me love a book, I will definitely finish the series though, the plots are intriguing

    Reply

Please comment! We'd love to hear from you.

%d bloggers like this: