Falling (Fall or Break #1)


Title: Falling (Fall or Break #1)
Author: Barbara Elsborg
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: March 24th 2015
Genre(s): Contemporary
Page Count:282
Reviewed by: Ele
Heat Level: 4 flames out of 5
Rating: 4.1 stars out of 5
Blurb:

Falling is easy. Landing without breaking your heart? Impossible.

Harper is no longer behind bars, but it doesn’t feel like it. Ten years serving time for a crime he didn’t commit have left him shut down, numb, and a frozen wreck over the simplest of choices.

He’s acutely aware of the dark-haired young man checking him out in the supermarket, but he’s too deep in panic mode to even meet the guy’s gaze. Afraid the slightest move will trigger a fall that will never stop.

Fresh off a long-term relationship with a controlling man, Malachi is stuck living with relatives who think he’s a waste of oxygen. The tall guy in the long, gray coat is the first bright spot he’s glimpsed in a long time…though the man’s unblinking stare at a bottle of shower gel is a touch alarming.

Hard experience tells both of them to turn away before lust turns to hopeless attraction, and inevitably to disaster. But once their sparks connect, the arc of electricity is too strong to deny. Even if the cost is too much to bear.

Warning: Contains an ex-con with disaster written all over him, a boy toy who’s trouble with a capital T, a damp old British house, compulsive meddling, and enough hot sex to cure the severe case of nervous babbling.


I’m a big Barbara Elsborg fan. I love her dark, angsty and complex stories. This one didn’t disappoint.

Harper is fresh out of prison after completing a ten-year sentence for a crime he didn’t commit. He is all alone, he can’t trust anyone and is unable to make the simplest of choices without the threat of an anxiety attack.
Malachi is a former journalist. He left his controlling ex boyfriend, he lost his job and his home and is now living with his sister and her homophobic husband.

The angst surrounding these two is so much, I wondered sometimes how they will make it through. Harper, as an ex-con, has to endure discrimination, vandalisms and violence. The injustice of it broke my heart and made me so mad! Malachi has to suffer the bulling of his brother-in-law who treats him like dirt and he gets by on practically nothing.

The first time they see each other, they both feel the spark but don’t expect to meet again.Faith has other plans, though. The attraction between them is instant but there is much more to it. Malachi makes Harper want to live again, to trust and fight to prove his innocence. Harper becomes a home for Malachi, he shows him that love isn’t about control. The sex between them is scorching hot and the connection feels so real.

“I. Need. You.” Malachi clutched him more tightly. “I want…”
“What?” The moon? It’s yours. Anything.
“I want to make you happy.”

The mystery surrounding Harper’s imprisonment is handled very well and was paired with action . In fact this is what made this a page turner for me. Fans of LAW & Order and Criminal Minds will love this story.

There are many secondary characters, some likeable, others evil. Every each of them has a vital role to play. Conrad, Malachi’s controlling ex will have a big part too and what an intriguing character he was! He manages to redeem himself in the end and ok I’ll admit it. For a moment I felt a connection between him and Malachi and I thought “Hmmm, it would be nice if those two got back together”. Okay, okay don’t shoot, it was just a thought! I’m glad Conrad will have his own story.

There were just two things that removed almost one star from my rating:
– When Harper shared his past, Malachi immediately believed him. Just like that. There were solid evidence that convicted Harper in the first place (although he was innocent) and it just didn’t make sense to me that Malachi who was supposed to be a journalist believed an ex-con that he knew for a couple of days that easily. Not so realistic.
-Despite the hardships surrounding him, Malachi was a pretty funny and humorous person.This was good because it balanced some of the angst in the story. Sometimes, though it annoyed me. It went on and on when they were having a serious conversation and, dude, stop talking so much during sex!!!

Despite the above I loved the book and will definitely read the rest of the series. Highly recommended!

Fall or Break Series


Buy Link Author Link GoodReads

Author

Mother, wife, teacher and READER. I read MM almost exclusively. My kindle is my best friend and the most important thing in my life after my son. My poor husband…

I read MM romance almost exclusively. As a reader I don’t have any hard limits except incest. I like Contemporary and Historicals and I rarely read Paranormal unless recommended…

Please comment! We'd love to hear from you.