Tied Up In Knots (Renee’s review)

Tied up in KnotsTitle: Tied Up In Knots (Marshals #3)
Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Release Date: September 16, 2016
Genre(s): Contemporary
Page Count: 260
Reviewed by: Renee
Heat Level:  3.5 flames out of 5
Rating:  4.5 stars out of 5
Blurb:

Miro Jones is living the life: he’s got his exciting, fulfilling job as a US deputy marshal, his gorgeous Greystone in suburban Chicago, his beloved adopted family, and most importantly, the man who captured his heart, Ian Doyle. Problem is, Ian isn’t just his partner at work—Ian’s a soldier through and through. That commitment takes him away from Miro, unexpectedly and often, and it’s casting a shadow over what could be everything Miro could ever dream of.

Work isn’t the same without Ian. Home isn’t the same, either, and Miro’s having to face his fears alone… how to keep it together at the office, how to survive looming threats from the past, and worst of all, how to keep living without Ian’s rock-solid presence at his side. His life is tied up in knots, but what if unknotting them requires something more permanent? What would that mean for him and Ian? Miro’s stuck between two bad choices, and sometimes the only way to get out of the knot is to hold tight to your lifeline and pull.

 

There are few words I can use to describe the ride that this book was. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, so I’ll be as vague as possible.

This was an awesome addition to the series! Fans of Ian and Miro will in NO WAY be disappointed. You will likely fangirl or fanboy all over this story.

As far as plotlines, it very much stays in line with what you’ve come to expect from this series. It’s scatterbrained and OTT and just fun as all hell. The side characters’ interactions with Miro and Ian are priceless! I love everything about the other Marshals, especially Sam Kage.

My personal favorite, and this is alluded to in the blurb, is the relationship angst. When Mary brings internal angst to a couple, instead of just external angst, she nails it! This was delicious heartbreak with a great non-cliffie ending for our boys that I ate up with a spoon.

The cameos!! Calmes brought out the big guns with little Easter egg cameos or conversations about previous characters – it was all kinds of awesome!

I can’t share anything else without spoiling anything, but just know that this is a phenomenal addition to the series! Recommended!

Marshals Series


Buy Link Amazon Global Author Link GoodReads More Author Reviews

Advanced Review Copy

Galley copy of Tied Up In Knots provided by Dreamspinner Press in exchange of an honest review.

Author

I love boys who love boys! I'm in my 30s, from the southern US, and my crack is m/m romance.