Gabriel (Natosha’s Review)

Title: Gabriel (Order of the Black Knights #5)
Author: R.K. Staunton
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Release Date: April 21, 2017
Genre(s): Dark gay romance, former CIA, killer, kidnapping, human trafficking, college student, new start
Page Count: 219 pages
Reviewed by: Natosha
Heat Level: 4 flames out of 5
Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Gabriel Ingram is running from his past. It’s common knowledge at the college where he teaches that he’s a former CIA technical analyst, but no one knows the things he really did—or about the rage and bloodlust that are his constant companions. He’s holding on to his normal life with both hands, but he knows someday he’ll lose his grip.

Lucas Craig is a social worker studying to become a family therapist. For reasons Lucas can’t understand, the normally reclusive Professor Ingram takes an interest in him, and Lucas secretly hopes their friendship might become more.

Then Eric, Lucas’s roommate, disappears. Lucas is frantic. The police are no help. With nowhere else to turn, Lucas begs Gabriel for his expertise.

What starts as a simple errand to help a friend becomes a journey into a violent world of gangs and human trafficking—one that will bring Gabriel face-to-face with the forces intent on stealing his soul. But Lucas might be the one who can save him—if Gabriel can get them out alive.

I truly love “The alder Of The Black Knights” series. R.K. Straunton made this book just as amazing as the past authors for each book in this series. That is what I love about this series. Each book is by a different author but they have the same concept in order to make it part of the series.

Each book starts the same with the main character being given the choice to either accept Moriels offer of a better life or to not and keep going on in the same type of life that they are already living. But with the acceptance of this “better life” there are consequences that the main character has to face and a set of rules that have to be followed in order to be released to what could be called nothing else other than a curse Moriel places on the ones who accepts his offer.

That is what happened to Gabriel. He accepted and now in order to no anger feel the need to kill, he has to give an enemy and not just any enemy but the “one”.

The thing is how will Gabriel ever know this is the case if he cannot remember making the pact with Moriel. Will his past life’s somehow make it known to Gabriel what he is supposed to do without going against the contract? Or will his unnatural attraction to Lucas guide him into realizing what he feels is an unnatural attraction to Lucas actually turn into a blessing in disguise and save Gabriel in more ways than one.

In my opinion what makes this series so amazing is that each book is basically the same plot but each book is so different from the last because each book is written by a different author therefore making each book like it is standalone instead of part of a series. Each book is so different then the other because of being written by someone else as each book has come out that it makes it interesting to the reader because the reader cannot predict what the book is truly going to be about because each author has a different vision for each book.

I cannot wait for the next book to come out!!!!!

Order of the Black Knights

Buy Link Amazon Global R.K. Staunton Link GoodReads R.K. Staunton Reviews

Advanced Review Copy

Galley copy of Gabriel (Orser of the Black Knights #5) provided by Dreamspinner Press in exchange of an honest review.


Hello, I am an avid reader of male/male books. I do not have a favorite genre when it comes to male/male books because I love all of them from romance, dark reads, paranormal, shifter, threesome, whatever I see that catches my eye at the time. I read books about rock stars, CEOs, military, cops, and just the original plain old good boy types of books. Basically when it comes to a book, I read whatever I am in the mood for at the time. So my tastes varies from day to day and sometimes even hour to hour.