Nobody Rides For Free (NeRdyWYRM’s Review)


review master
Title: Nobody Rides For Free: An Angus Green Novel (Angus Green Series, #2)
Author: Neil Plakcy
Publisher: Diversion Books
Release Date: October 24, 2017
Genre(s): Contemporary Romance
Page Count: 262 pages
Reviewed by: NeRdyWYRM
Heat Level: 2 flames out of 5
Rating: 2 stars out of 5
Blurb:

The sharp and suspenseful new sequel to The Next One Will Kill You, perfect for fans of Joseph Hansen, Richard Stevenson, Randy Wayne White, and James W. Hall.

With less than a year of experience and only one big case behind him, FBI Special Agent Angus Green has joined the rarefied group of agents who have been wounded in the line of duty. Assigned to a desk job while he recovers, Angus wonders if he’s chosen the right career. He’s been following his late father’s dream for a life of adventure and travel—and instead encountered danger, pain, and heartbreak.

But when Angus discovers that gay teens are being sexually abused by a pornographer in the same neighborhood where he lives, he shoves aside his lingering doubts about his job and accepts his new assignment. The case takes him from Fort Lauderdale’s seamy underbelly to boisterous beachfront bars where big-fish Russian émigrés launder illegal cash. Angus is back in full effect, but with great power comes great responsibility, and he’ll soon find his stake in saving these trafficked teens is more personal than he could have anticipated. Every case leaves a lasting scar—some are just more difficult to see. In the end, Angus will learn the truth of a saying he learned as a boy—there is a price to pay for every decision we make. Nobody rides for free.


Round 2 Was an Improvement But …

Sadly, it wasn’t enough to tip the scales in favor of me reading another installment to the series. I liked the details on the law enforcement side. If there were procedural errors, I didn’t catch them. Then again, I wasn’t that invested. My mind wandered a lot on this one. I pretty much slogged through it with dogged determination because I made a commitment to review it. I take that seriously. I just wish I had better things to say.

Although Angus did some growing over the course of these two books, he never did grow on me. I just don’t like him. Sorry-not-sorry. And is it just me, or do these characters have the un-sexiest names EVER? Angus and Lester? It sounds like a silent movie comedic couple meets freaky serial killer or something. Laurel and Hardy, Abbott and Costello … Angus and Lester, Hannibal Lecter. Get me? No?! Oh hush, you! I can’t help it if my brain makes weird connections on the back of semi-alliterative phrases and impressions. Deal with it.

Laurel and HardyAbbott and CostelloHannibal Lecter

I know that’s pet peeve-y, but even these guys’ hobbies and interests feel old. Artisinal bourbon? Sheezus. My imagination conjures up fussy, weak, snobbish, hoity-toity, limp-dicked GAP-wearing rejects. The Banana Republic newsboy flat-cap crowd … ugh shudders. I don’t mean to offend anyone, but that whole ‘look’ and attitude is just a turn-off for me and one I can’t get past. Lester is utterly wasted on Angus’ sorry ass.

8===================) No Limp Dicks Grouchy Cat (===================8

Ultimately the plot was unnecessarily convoluted. Even the characters fessed up in the narrative to the whole shebang being complicated. It took them forever to decide who was going to prosecute whom for what and how … ugh. It was pointlessly ambitious in that regard and not very successful despite the effort.

The biggest problem remains that I simply couldn’t, even after a second book, connect with the characters. Angus because I disliked him and Lester because he should have had better taste. The question about Angus remaining in the FBI (blurb) didn’t get expanded upon or answered to my satisfaction. I feel misled … in more ways than one. For instance, I still don’t know why this series is purportedly a romance. Because Angus feels ‘safe’ with Lester (blurb)? Is that all it takes?

I feel safe with my big ass dog, but I’m not into him AT ALL. I could go on, but there’s no point. This series just isn’t for me.

This review is cross-posted at Goodreads. Other reviews by NeRdyWYRM can be read here.

Images may be subject to copyright


Buy Link Amazon Global Author Link GoodReads More Author Reviews


Advanced Review Copy

Galley copy of Nobody Rides for Free: An Angus Green Novel provided by Diversion Books in exchange of an honest review.

Author

I am a life-long reader and an avid learner. I remember reading books without pictures when I was about four, and raided every title on my parents’ full and intimidating book shelves—well, the ones they would let me read, anyway—from then on. Characters written by authors like Isaac Asimov, Carl Sagan, Robert Jordan, David Eddings, Terry Brooks, Anne Rice, Stephen King, Raymond E. Feist, Mercedes Lackey, Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman, and Anne McCaffrey were my childhood playmates.

Back then, I went nowhere unless I had a book in my hand. While the rest of my generation was shifting from cassettes to CDs and from Atari to Nintendo, Sega, and Playstation, I spent my allowance on Myth & Magic pewter figurines and on books at the Stars and Stripes bookstore. These days I don’t have a book in my hand anymore, at least not the printed variety. Instead, it’s any device with a Kindle app.

I stubbornly held on to the printed page until a military move weighed my book collection in at over a ton. Oops. Sorry-not-sorry, but I did have to exercise some pragmatism in that area, unfortunately. Now I only buy hardbacks from my favorite authors, the classics, or long-running series. Otherwise, I’ve surrendered to the times and our weight allowance and have gone all digital.

I stay strictly on the fiction side of the fence because non-fiction is generally too dry to hold my interest. I was always a scholar, and so have read enough textbook-like titles and required reading for school and college to last me a lifetime, thank you very much. So, non-fiction? No, thanks. However, barring non-fiction and biographies (ewww people), there’s not much out there I won’t read.

I have loved romance novels since I was prepubescent. Something about historicals and anything with horses, i.e., Native American inspired romances just did it for me. My grandmother was appalled that my parents let me read that ‘smut’ as she called it. I’d already justified my position on being allowed to read those controversial titles with a logical argument that there were a lot of historical facts in those books that couldn’t be learned in the classroom alone. And to this day, I maintain that stance. I have learned more from books, specifically romance and fantasy novels, than I ever did in a classroom.

~~wink-wink~~

My dad always said I was too smart for my own good. Looking back, he was probably right! I could logically talk my way into and out of just about anything. It’s served me well, but caused me no end of problems, too. That said, despite my love for the romance genre in general and the m/m romance genre in particular, there is little chance that a decent book of any kind will fail to catch my interest, and there’s nothing at all I’m unwilling to learn. So bring it on. I hope you enjoy my reviews.

Please comment! We'd love to hear from you.

%d bloggers like this: