Salmon and the Hazel (The Rowan Harbor Cycle #8)

Title: Salmon and the Hazel (The Rowan Harbor Cycle #8)
Author: Sam Burns
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: July 4th 2019
Genre(s): M/M Contemporary Fantasy, Paranormal
Page Count: 146 pages
Reviewed by: Belen
Heat Level: 2 flames out of 5
Rating: 3.75 stars out of 5


Jesse’s only priority in life is protecting the people he loves, so he’s determined to see Rowan Harbor’s wards rebuilt. There’s just one problem: they’re missing an ingredient that can’t be ordered online.

Jesse volunteers to search for the missing component in the realm of the fae, but his boyfriend, Sean, isn’t letting him go alone. The town has an enemy among the fae, so they’ll need to keep a low profile. Along their way, they find unexpected allies, surprising enemies, and a whole host of problems.

The journey is a test of their endurance, but also of their relationship and their faith in each other. Can they find what they need and get back home in one piece in time for the summer solstice?

Now that Devon and Wade have gotten their happily ever after, it’s Jesse’s turn in the penultimate installment of the The Rowan Harbor Cycle series.

Told in Jesse’s single POV, we pick up about a week and a half out from the Summer Soltice. Now that the council knows who’s really after the town, it’s up to Jesse and Sean to travel to the realm of the fae to collect the final ingredient to a spell that will ward the town again. Of course, nothing goes smoothly and Jesse and Sean find themselves under near constant attack or coercion.

The character growth in this series is great, and we’ve all been waiting for the payoff from this trilogy of trilogies, but I will admit I found myself feeling as though the end to this particular story was rushed. The wrap-up is fast and I felt like I barely got to enjoy Sean and Jesse’s HEA before it was over.

I have had such a great time reading this series, and I have absolutely no idea how the final book of the series is going to play out, but I’m already a little sad it’s coming to a close.

Single POV, Fantasy/Paranormal, with some romantic elements, some action, some humor, and a HEA ending.

Note: This is not a standalone, the series should be read in order. The Rowan Harbor Cycle is a series of 9 books – a trilogy of trilogies. The main characters (Devon and Wade, Jesse and Sean, Fletcher and Conner) have their own book in each trilogy with happy for now endings until the final trilogy where they get their happily ever afters.

The Rowan Harbor Cycle

Buy Link Amazon Global Author Link GoodReads More Author Reviews

Advanced Review Copy

Galley copy of Salmon and the Hazel provided by the author in exchange of an honest review.


I am an unapologetic book addict/lover. I'm happiest when reading and I spend most of my time with my Kindle, which is never far from my hand. I love to be told a good story! I mostly read fiction: Romance, Erotica, Young Adult, New Adult, Paranormal (shifters? Yes, please!), a little BDSM when I'm in the mood, and I love a good ménage story. I DEFINITELY PREFER A HFN/HEA! My biggest no-no's are cheating, miscommunication / misunderstanding plots, unnecessary angst, and cliffhangers.

A sampling of my "Favorite M/M" stories:

Carry the Ocean The Half of Us Red Dirt Heart Adulting 101 Tied Up In Knots
Shelter the Sea Manties in a Twist David, Renewed Ethan who Loved Carter Perfect Imperfections
Wolfsong Fight the Tide How to Walk Like A Man The Lightning-Struck Heart Forging the Future
%d bloggers like this: