Crescent Moon’s Curve (Slate Mountain Wolf Pack #3)

Title: Crescent Moon’s Curve (Slate Mountain Wolf Pack Book 3)
Author: Michelle Frost & Sammi Cee
Publisher: self-published
Release Date: October 5, 2019
Genre(s): Suspense
Page Count: 99
Reviewed by: Maya
Heat Level: 3 flames out of 5
Rating: 4 stars out of 5


I’d only ever had two dreams in life; to be a beta for the Slate Mountain Wolf Pack and to find the mate fate had for me. I’d accomplished the first, side by side with my best friend, Xavier. Unfortunately, the more time goes by, the more I dread the other. The thought that Xavier wouldn’t be the most important person in my life once my mate showed up was an ache deep in my soul. With no time to dwell on that, I focused on the job at hand. The town of Slate Mountain was counting on our Wolf Pack to keep them safe, whether they knew it or not. When a new, unknown enemy began aiding the town mayor’s witchcraft, I had to get my eyes off of Xavier to make sure no one else ended up in harm’s way—or worse.

As one of the betas of Slate Mountain Wolf Pack, protecting our town was the most important thing to me outside of my club and my best friend Killian. He’d been by my side since we were pups, and my greatest fear was him finding his mate and leaving me behind. At least, it was until the heat on our town fires up, putting his life in jeopardy. There’s no way Ethan, our club president and alpha, will let anyone compromise the citizens of our town. But these people… shifters… whoever they are, have upped the ante if they think they can harm Killian without retribution.

Welcome to Slate Mountain where magic and motorcycles roam the streets, love flows as pure as mountain spring water, and the wolves are always guarding the door.

Crescent Moon’s Curve is a novella featuring an M/M romance and a HEA. It is the third book in a four-part series set in the same world, and while each book focuses on a different couple, the overall story arc continues on in the next installment. It is recommended the books be read in order.

This was short and sweet, or it felt like it, because I practically devoured the book. It’s a friends to lovers trope, with added spice of fated mates thing. It’s third book in series, and while I had no problems connecting with characters at once and really enjoyed the book, I got the sense it would be better if reading in order. I’m definitely interested in previous books in series. It has easy flow and likable characters. The plot is fairly simple, good guys against the bad, with added appearance of previous books couples (and hints at new!) I wonder if there were hints of this one on others.

Xavier and Killian are best friends. They do everything together. They were in love with each other for years, but both kept it secret from each other. Then Xavier has a bright idea for them to become friends with benefits, which is both good and bad idea. Good because he’d wanted Killian for years and now finally has a chance to be with him, and bad because it’s supposed to be temporary, until they find their mates. Yeah, that’s so not going to work for him.
The POV switches between two men and it’s happy and uncomplicated story. There is a dash of danger to help romantic plot along.

It’s shifters and magic story, the pacing is good and the plot engaging. The characters are sympathetic and the reading was fun. It’s cute and sappy but with enough danger to keep it exciting. I liked it very much and can recommend!

Buy Link Amazon Global MichelleFrost Link SammiCee Link GoodReads  
More MichelleFrost Reviews More SammiCee Reviews